Karla Munger
I've been with JA since 2003. I'm the resident hermit. I'm also a freelance digital artist. My avatar is one of my creations. I started out at JA as tender of The JAVE (Just Adventure Virtual Encyclopedia, which is not currently part of the site), and also wrote reviews. In 2008, JA's former owner, Randy Sluganski, invited me to become the site's webmaster. I continued to maintain the site and The JAVE until JA was sold to Shane. Fortunately, I got to stay and became one of the many site admins you see here now. I love games. Adventure games are my first love, followed by RPG, FPS and RTS. But if a game is good, the genre doesn't really matter to me. I especially like games that are dark, scary, creepy, sickening, disgusting...you get the idea. My favorites are The Cat Lady, Scratches: The Director's Cut and Still Life (the first one only). In the realm of my favorite non-scarys are Syberia I and II, TLJ, Dreamfall, Culpa Innata and the older Nancy Drew games. I absolutely detest Windows 8, Microsoft in general and Dell computers.
Joined: Jun 12 2013
Be a Fan
Results found: 26
Ordering:
  • Despite the problems I had, I consider The Land of Pain to be a remarkable creation. Familiarity with Lovecraft is not a prerequisite for enjoying the game, and I highly recommend it to all who love a good scare.
    Genre: First-person survival horrorRelease date: September 13, 2017 Introduction &nb
    12/04/17 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • Were it not for the platformers and timed puzzles, I believe I would have enjoyed this game quite a bit despite the fact that it didn't scare me
    Genre: First-person Puzzle-Platformer Release date: March 20, 2017 Introduction &nbs
    07/01/17 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • The whimsy and charm of Reality Slap won me over despite its rough spots. Not only did I have fun playing it, it left me wanting more.
    Genre: Point-and-Click AdventureRelease date: July 21, 2016   Introduction &n
    10/06/16 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • Yellowstar Games seeks your backing for its point-and-click time-travel adventure
    Visit the Indiegogo page Back It's TIME! for Windows, Mac and Linux and help Yellowstar Games
    09/18/16 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • This game can be quite effort-intensive and time-consuming, but if you rush through it and play it only once, I can almost guarantee you won't like it
    Genre: Mystery/Sci-Fi Exploration AdventureRelease date: April 20, 2016 Note: P.O.L.L.E.N. supports
    06/20/16 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • Here we have a "comedy cosmic horror point-and-click adventure with a Transylvanian twist" and a playable demo to boot
    Visit the Kickstarter page (where you can also download the demo)Visit the Greenlight page Wher
    04/12/16 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • If you're looking for a point-and-click adventure that's practically stress-free (albeit somewhat short), The Minims is for you
    Genre: Point-and-Click AdventureRelease date: April 1, 2016 (Windows/Mac) The word minim derives fr
    04/12/16 | Review | by Karla Munger
    1
  • A mystery-adventure for PC/Windows that's free but flawed
    Genre: Mystery-Adventure Release date: October 31, 2015 (Zodiac Store, itch.io, Game Jolt); Novembe
    10/31/15 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • This sci-fi adventure's positive aspects are greatly overshadowed by its many technical difficulties
    Genre: Sci-fi Adventure (Keyboard/Mouse) Release date: July 25, 2015 You can make the most gorgeous
    08/20/15 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • The third chapter in Gato Salvaje Studio's AR-K series will launch July 14th
    The story of AR-K: The Great Escape has been written by critically acclaimed comic book writer Gre
    07/09/15 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • I definitely recommend Tormentum to anyone who loves a dark story, beautiful and disturbing imagery, a nightmarish atmosphere and/or the fantastical art of Giger and Beksiński
    Genre: Fantasy/Horror Point-and-Click AdventureRelease date: March 4, 2015 Tormentum: Dark Sorrow i
    03/22/15 | Review | by Karla Munger
    1
  • Nancy, George and Bess join a reality show in New Zealand and finally meet Sonny Joon. Do Nancy Drew fans win or lose?
    I'd like to start with some personal backstory. I live in Florida, which was hit by four hurricanes
    06/09/14 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • Ray Ivey evaluates the latest adventure game from Jane Jensen/Pinkerton Road Studios
    Whenever the venerable Jane Jensen creates a new game, attention must be paid.1 She’s famous for c
    05/09/14 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • Become a mercenary
    Note: Originally posted March 11, 2002Since I was 8, I've wanted to be a mercenary. While other girl
    12/09/13 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • What to do when you're the result of experiments gone wrong and dumped on a desert planet? Why, stop the man who created you from potentially destroying the universe, that's what!
    I first became aware of Space Madness when I received an email from German indie developer Ray Log
    06/13/13 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • A hidden object puzzle adventure murder mystery
    Genre: Hidden Object Puzzle AdventureRelease Date: September 2012Platform: PC (version reviewed), Ma
    05/26/13 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • A tale of life and death, heartache and hope, despair and survival -- in a game that has soul
    WARNING: This game contains flashing imagery, adult themes, violence, gore, nudity, sexual cont
    01/08/13 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • Become a ghost wrapped in a dirty sheet and go to work as a "ghostcatcher" in an abandoned, bucket-filled factory
    Genre: Fantasy AdventureRelease Date: November 2007Platform: PCNote: Originally published 15 January
    12/22/12 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • An old-school RPG for hardcore fans of the genre, it's not without its problems
    Genre: Action/Fantasy RPGPlatform: PCRelease date: September 5, 2012 (English-language version)Let
    12/02/12 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • As Sadwick the clown, be whisked away to a fantasy world that mixes fairytale elements with melancholic tones in this stunning tale of epic proportons
    Genre:     Fantasy AdventureRelease Date: PC Version: April 23, 2010 (Worldwide Digit
    04/21/12 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • A horror adventure game that brings players to the dark and mysterious Cold Winter Farm. What's the worst that can happen?
    Genre: Horror-Adventure Platform: PC Release Date: February 9, 2012 "It's what you d
    02/15/12 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • Review
    Against all odds, adventure games seem to be evolving. Over the past few years, there have been repeated attempts to move the classic adventure game formula into new directions. Majestic and Missing: Since January brought the online experience to the genre. Indigo Prophecy used the format of an interactive movie to generate the adventure game experience. Broken Sword: The Sleeping Dragon reimagined the traditional point-and-click adventure in a true 3D setting.
    Against all odds, adventure games seem to be evolving. Over the past few years, there have been repe
    04/27/06 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • Here we have not one, but two new titles: Flo: Return of the Water Beetles, and Buzby: Breakin' All the Rules. Based on Max Lucado's Hermie & Friends video presentations, both games are geared toward ages 3-6.
    Introduction Having reviewed all Digital Praise games offered to Just Adventure thus far, I was rem
    03/21/06 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • Here, the emphasis is on choices and consequences, obedience, moral character, responsibility, and the value of time.
    Genre: Arcade/Puzzle Adventure Release Date: September 2005 It's my pleasure to be reviewing the t
    11/02/05 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • Are you tired of finding blood, guts, gore, sex, crime, bad language, maladjusted behavior and anti-social attitudes in your computer games -- or worse yet, in your kids' computer games?
    Genre: Arcade/Puzzle Adventure Release Date: February 2005 Introduction Are you tired of finding
    04/12/05 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
  • Puzzles in The Westerner are fair and logical. Only a couple of them found me wondering what the heck they were thinking. I wish I could tell you more, but I vowed to never spoil a game on a review. Now, the thing that really bothered me was when Fenimore dies at the end because you -- oops.
    Of Trains, Banks and Farms Puzzles in The Westerner are fair and logical. Only a
    03/03/04 | Review | by Karla Munger
    0
1997 - 2017 Just Adventure, LLC. All Rights Reserved
Web Analytics